Praise for Mary Doria Russell and her work:

Russell’s first novel, The Sparrow (1996), was chosen as one of the Ten Best Books of the Year by Entertainment Weekly and won the Arthur C. Clarke Prize, the British Science Fiction for Best Novel in 1998. The sequel, Children of God (1998), won the Friends of the Library USA Reader’s Choice Award. and was nominated for the Hugo Award, Best Novel in 1999.

The San Francisco Chronicle called A Thread of Grace (2005) “hauntingly beautiful.” The surprising story of Jewish survival in Nazi-occupied Italy, the novel was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. Dreamers of the Day (2008) is about 1921 Cairo Peace Conference when Winston Churchill, Gertrude Bell and Lawrence of Arabia invented the modern Middle East. Nominated for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, it was praised for its accuracy and fairness in both Turkey and Israel.

Doc, her 2011 fictional biography of Doc Holliday, was one of the Washington Post‘s three best novels of the year and the American Library Association’s Best Historical Novel. Its follow-on, Epitaph, examines the way the gunfight at the O.K. Corral became central to American mythology about the Old West. Epitaph was also on the Washington Post‘s 2015 list for best fiction of the year.

The Women of the Copper Country, the story of the 1913 strike in Calumet, Michigan, has been named an Upper Peninsula Notable Book, a Michigan Notable Book, and has been selected as the 2021-22 Great Michigan Read by Michigan Humanities.


The Sparrow

2001 Winner, Kurd Lasswitz Preis (German Nebula)

2001 Winner, Spectrum Classics, Hall of Fame

1998 Winner, John W. Campbell Award for the Best New Writer in Science Fiction

1997 Winner, Arthur C. Clarke Prize, Best Novel

1997 Winner, British Science Fiction Association, Best Novel

1997 Winner, James Tiptree Jr. Memorial Prize

Children of God

2001 Winner, Spectrum Classics, Hall of Fame

1999 Winner, American Library Association Readers Choice Award

1998 Winner, The Cleveland Arts Prize for Literature


2011 Winner. Great Lakes Great Reads (Fiction)

2011 Winner, American Library Association Best Novel, Historical Fiction

2015 Best Fiction of the Year List: Washington Post


2015 Best Fiction of the Year Lists: Washington Post, Seattle Times, Chicago Public Library

2015 Best Historical Western Novel: True West Magazine

2015 Best Historical Western Novelist: True West Magazine

2016 Ohioana Best Fiction Award and Readers’ Choice Award


2008 COSE Arts Business and Innovation Award

2005 Northern Ohio Live Award of Achievement
Finalist, Writing category

Asteroid (12374) 194JG9 named “Rakhat” in tribute to The Sparrow
by its discoverer C.P. de Saint-Aignan at Palomar.

LeMoyne College, Syracuse NY
2000 Honorary Doctorate in Humane Letters

Crain’s Cleveland Business
Woman of Influence 2000